Saturday, February 01, 2014

March Treasures in My Closet

Wait until you see the March book releases! This is a month filled with treasures.

And, the month kicks off with a new book from Agatha nominee Rhys Bowen. City of Darkness and Light is the latest Molly Murphy mystery. When a gang retaliates against Molly's husband following a big arrest, he wants them safely out of New York City. Molly takes their son to Paris, planning to stay with artist friends. Instead, she finds them missing and a renowned Impressionist artist murdered. It isn't long before she wonders if she and Liam are in worse danger in Paris than at home. (Release date is March 4)

Nickolas Butler takes readers to Little Wing, a small town in Wisconsin, in Shotgun Lovesongs. Four friends called it home, but when the men return home for a wedding as adults, the town seems even smaller than ever. (Release date is March 11)

Allison Brennan, bestselling author of the Lucy Kincaid novels, launches a new crime series featuring investigative reporter Maxine Revere. Max investigates cold cases for a true crime TV show. In Notorious, she goes back home to the small town she put behind her years ago to look into the unsolved murder of one of her high school classmates. (Release date is March 25)

Annette Dashofy's Circle of Influence is also a March 25 release. Zoe Chambers is a paramedic and deputy coroner in rural Pennsylvania. She's kept a number of secrets over the year, but secrets become explosive when a dead body is found in the Township Board President's abandoned car. As a January blizzard rages, Zoe and Police Chief Pete Adams launch a desperate search for the killer, even if it means uncovering secrets that could destroy both of them as well as those closest to them.

Edgar Award-winner Bruce DeSilva brings back Liam Mulligan, an old school investigative reporter for a dying Providence, Rhode Island newspaper, in Providence Rag. Inspired by a true story, finds Mulligan, his pal Mason, and the newspaper at an ethical crossroad. The state's laws should allow the youngest serial killer in history out of prison when he reaches twenty-one, but he's still behind bars, undoubtedly for trumped up charges. While Mason sets out to prove officials are messing with the system, Mulligan does everything he can to keep the monster behind bars. (Release date is March 11)

In Tricia Fields' latest mystery, Wrecked, Texas police chief Josie Gray stumbles on a con game that could be worth millions - but cost someone their life. She's living every cop's worst nightmare, a murder suspect who she knows personally, her longtime boyfriend. His secretary has been murdered; he's disappeared; and she has no choice but to turn the investigation over to a fellow officer. Unable to stay on the sidelines, she discovers she was the real target. (Release date is March 4)

Rules for Becoming a Legend, Timothy S. Lane's debut novel, is said to be in the tradition of The Art of Fielding and Friday Night Lights. It uses sports as a lens to understand family, community, and hope. Jimmy "Kamikaze" Kirkus is a basketball star, destined for a legendary future in the NBA. To the citizens of Columbia City, it seems like he was born for the sport. But, he's forced to confront the family curse, tragedies of wasted talent, and wasted lives, including his own father's. Will Jimmy continue down that path or finally put an end to the family cycle of tragedy? (Release date is March 13)

Cop-turned-prison chaplain, John Jordan, returns in Michael Lister's Rivers to Blood. Lister juggles multiple storylines even as Jordan struggles with a crisis of faith. He was knocked unconscious by an escaped convict when he investigates a prisoner transport van. A new warden is determined to replace Jordan as chaplain. And, Jordan's father, the local sheriff, faces serious opposition in an upcoming primary election. Then, there are the problems with prisoners inside the walls. The chaplain doesn't face an easy course as he combines investigations with his day job. (Release date is March 1)

Precious Thing is Colette McBeth's debut novel. Rachel and Clara met in high school when Rachel was shy and awkward and everyone wanted to be friends with Clara. Now in their late twenties, Rachel has it all while Clara's life is spiraling out of control. When Rachel's news editor assigns her to cover a police press conference, she's shocked to learn that the subject is Clara who is reported missing. Is it abduction, suicide, or something else altogether? (Release date is March 4)

In the Morning I'll Be Gone is book three in Adrian McKinty's Troubles Trilogy. Set in the early 1980s in Belfast, Sean Duffy, a conflicted Catholic cop in the Protestant RUC (Royal Ulster Constabulary), is recruited by M15 to hunt down Dermot McCann, an IRA master bomber who escaped from the notorious Maze Prison. When Sean finds a woman who may hold the key to Dermot's whereabouts, he has to solve the murder of her daughter before he finds out the clues to the bigger mystery of Dermot's location. And, the clock is ticking. (Release date is March 4)

Isla Morley's Above has been compared to Room. Blythe Hallowell was sixteen when she was abducted by a survivalist and locked away in an abandoned missile silo in Kansas. She's held captive for years, only to reemerge in a world more terrifying than the one she left behind. (Release date is March 4)

Investigative reporter Carter Ross returns in Brad Parks' latest mystery, The Player. When he hears that residents of a Newark neighborhood are getting sick, and even dying, from a mysterious disease, Carter jumps into the case until he comes down with the sickness himself. More motivated than ever, Carter tracks the source of the disease, and ends at a nearby construction site. But, when the project's developer is found dead, and his mob ties surface, Carter knows his story might be much bigger, and more dangerous, than an environmental hazard. (Release date is March 4)

At last a novel that isn't released on March 4! Yrsa Sigurdardottir's I Remember You is subtitled "A Ghost Story". In an isolated village in the Icelandic Westfjords, three friends set to work renovating a rundown house. But they realize they're not alone; someone or something wants them to leave, and it's making its presence felt. Meanwhile, in a town across the fjord, Freyr, a young doctor investigates the suicide of an elderly woman. When he discovers that she was obsessed with his vanished son, Benni, he's determined to find out the terrifying truth. When these two stories collide, the terrifying truth is uncovered in this horrifying thriller. (Release date is March 25)

In The Cairo Affair, Olen Steinhauer explores he landscape of a marriage set against a backdrop of political conspiracies, where no one and nothing is safe. In a restaurant in Budapest, Sophie Cole's husband confronts her with his discovery of an affair she'd had when he was posted in Cairo. Before she can defend herself, her husband is shot to death. Now a widow with her life turned upside down, Sophie goes back to Egypt to search for the motives behind the murder. But, Cairo has changed, and Sophie has to reconnect with the CIA who was her lover in order to untangle the threads of an international plot. (Release date is March 18)

Dead Between the Lines is Denise Swanson's latest mystery featuring Devereaux "Dev" Sinclair who opened an old-fashioned five-and-dime shop in her small Missouri town. To keep her new business going, she opens up her shop to local clubs, including he Stepping Out Book Club. But, in their first meeting, the speaker storms out after members attack his poetry's sexism and scorn for small towns. Later that night, the poet's bod is found outside the store. Since she can't afford for the murder to close her down, she does a little investigating of her own. (Release date is March 4)

The last book is Doug Wilson's Brooks: A Biography of Brooks Robinson. It's the first complete biography of Baltimore Orioles Hall of Famer Brooks Robinson. Considered "the greatest defensive third baseman of all time", he was a wholesome player and role model who honored the game of baseball not only with his play but with his class and character off the field. (Release date is March 4)

So, which books are you looking forward to reading in March?


Beth Hoffman said...

That's a big line-up of books. Happy reading, Lesa!

Wishing you and the kitties a nice (and warm) weekend.

Jane R said...

Treasures indeed! I'm just sitting here, watching my book list grow by leaps and bounds. Thanks for the heads up, Lesa!

Lesa said...

February and March are overwhelming, Beth! Josh, Nikki & I are cuddled up together, keeping warm!

Lesa said...

You're welcome, Jane! If mine has to grow, so should yours. (smile)

Mark Baker said...

I've got an ARC of the new Molly on deck as well. Can't wait to dive into her latest adventure.

Lesa said...

I like to see what you're reading, Mark, since you read a number of the same books I do.

Melissa @ My Recent Favorite Books said...

Wow! March has alot of new releases lined up! I like cozy mysteries, Dead Between the Lines sounds interesting!

Lesa said...

February and March are both a little overwhelming, Melissa.