Saturday, June 01, 2013

July Treasures in My Closet

I hope everyone has some vacation time in July because you might want some extra time to read the terrific books that are coming out that month. I have quite a collection of ARCs that are scheduled for release in July.

The latest Meg Langslow mystery is Donna Andrews' Hen of the Baskervilles. Meg must solve a murder at the Virginia Un-Fair, help her friend who is a suspect, and rescue a kidnapped bantam rooster who went missing on the first night of the fair.

James Bowen's book was already a #1 bestseller on the London Times list. Street musician Bowen tells of the cat who saved his life in A Street Cat Named Bob. James was barely making enough to feed himself, living on the streets of London, but he helped a sickly cat, named him Bob, and nursed him back to health. Then he sent him on his way, but Bob had other ideas.





Letters from Skye is a debut epistolary novel from Jessica Brockmole. A mother and daughter fall in love, and their letters tell the story. In 1912, Elspeth Dunn, a poet on Scotland's Isle of Skye, corresponded with an American college student. They went from friendship to love, and then David volunteered as an ambulance driver during the Great War. In 1940, when Elspeth's daughter fell for a pilot, her mother warned her against love in wartime. When Elspeth disappears, her daughter only has a letter as a clue to her mother's whereabouts.

I never read any of Milton T. Burton's mysteries featuring Sheriff Bo Handel. Burton died in late 2011. These Mortal Remains is the final book in the series. When one of Bo's best cops, an African-American deputy, is shot and left wounded on the side of the road, Handel's eyes are opened to a sinister side of his county. A group of white supremacists are occupying a compound on the edge of town, determined to wreak havoc on those they hate.

"Some people always remember what they were wearing; Kate Christensen always remembers what she ate, what was served, what was cooked, what she cooked, what it tasted like." In Blue Plate Special, Christensen tells her story, weaving it with appetites, in the tradition of M.F.K. Fisher, Laurie Colwin, and Ruth Reichl.

John Clement picks up his mother's Dixie Hemingway mystery series following Blaize Clement's death. In The Cat Sitter's Cradle, Dixie spots an exotic bird, rarely seen in Siesta Key, Florida. As she digs deeper, she becomes increasingly suspicious. When one client is found dead, and a new friend and her baby disappear, Dixie is pulled into a world of greed, deception, and danger.

Massacre Pond is Paul Doiron's latest novel featuring Maine Game Warden Mike Bowditch. Bowditch is called to the estate of Elizabeth Morse when the corpses of five moose are found butchered there. There's a great deal of local anger against the wealthy animal rights activist who is buying huge parcels of timberland to create a new national park. But, when Morse's only daughter is killed, Bowditch risks everything to solve the controversial case.

The Panopticon is Jenni Fagan's debut novel. Anais Hendricks, fifteen, doesn't remember the events that landed her in the back of a police car, but a policewoman lies in a coma, and there's blood on Anais' school uniform. After a lifetime spent in the foster-care system, she now finds a home in in the Panopticon, a home for chronic young offenders. It isn't long before she realizes she's part of an experiment, and always has been.

John Florio introduces Jersey Leo in Sugar Pop Moon. Author Rebecca Cantrell says, "In Sugar Pop Moon, John Florio's powerful use of historical detail slams you into the gritty world of 1930s bootlegger, where his hero, albino Jersey Leo, holds you down for the count. Jersey Leo is an outcast, misfit, and good-hearted. But, when he inadvertently purchases counterfeit moonshine with his boss's money, he must go undercover to track down the bootlegger who sold it to him. With a price on his head in two cities, he turns for help to the only man he can trust, his father.

The Good Luck Girls of Shipwreck Lane is another debut novel, this one by Kelly Harms. When the lucky winner of a brand new, fully-loaded house is announced, two women named Janine Brown of Cedar Falls, Iowa, show up to claim it. When the women arrive in their new hometown of Christmas Cove, Maine, they discover that more than just a dream home awaits them at water's edge.

Alexander Maksik's A Marker to Measure Drift is a novel about ruin and faith, barbarism and love, and devastating memories. On an island in the Aegean, Jacqueline, an elegant and well-educated young woman, is living alone in a cave accessible only at low tide. Alone with her memories, she has to reconcile unspeakable violence with a desire to live.

Michael Paterniti gives us nonfiction with The Telling Room: A Tale of Love, Betrayal, Revenge, and the World's Greatest Piece of Cheese. One day in 2000, Paterniti found himself in a cave in a Spanish village listening to a story about a magical piece of cheese. He was about to be sucked into the heart of an unfolding mystery involving accusations of betrayal and theft and a murder plot. The author spent the next decade chasing the truth.

Amy Falls Down by Jincy Willett is the story of a bitter novelist who spent the last two decades teaching with little time for her writing. But an injury to her head turns Amy into a "Zen-goddess", according to the journalist who interviewed her only moments after the freak accident. Now, the once recluse has become a publishing star. But will the news of her semi-conscious state close the chapter on her unexpected fame?

It's an interesting collection, isn't it? Is there anything that appears to be a treasure to you? What July book are you waiting to read?
















7 comments:

BPL Ref said...

I've read James Bowen's book and liked it well enough. (Friend in England sent me a copy.) I just read Cats and Daughters by Helen Brown (author of Cleo the Cat Who Mended a Family) and it is absolutely terrific. As for what I'm looking forward to, I'm so far behind that all I'm reading is old news!

Page said...

I just read an ARC of Big Girl Panties by Stephanie Evanovich. I put my review of it on my blog
http://asthepageturns-page.blogspot.com

It's a great beach read.

Lesa said...

Oh, Imwant to read Cats and Daughters. I loved the Cleo book.
irozak

Dru said...

Final Sentence by Daryl Wood Gerber

Jane R said...

An interesting mix of books - most of which I learning about for the first time and are a bit outside my comfort zone. But, lately I've been reading a lot of new authors and I thoroughly enjoy it. I'm looking forward to continuing this trend all summer.

Lesa said...

Oh, Daryl Wood Gerber's book! Is it a thriller, Dru?

Lesa said...

Good for you, Dru! I always feel good when I like something I normally wouldn't read.