Thursday, April 18, 2013

Starting Now by Debbie Macomber

Starting Now is the ninth book in Debbie Macomber's Blossom Street series. Some of the books have been more interesting than others, but with the return of familiar characters and the introduction of new ones, this series of comfort reads could go on for quite a while.

Libby Morgan's determination to make partner in the law firm she works for cost her everything, her marriage, friends. So, the day she's called into her boss' office, her life is turned upside down when she learns she's being let go. What does she have in life? And, as time goes on and she can't find another job, she realizes she doesn't really have anything. In desperation, she joins a gym, begs a friend to go with her, and then accompanies that friend to A Good Yarn, the shop on Blossom Street that will change her life.

Her trip to A Good Yarn introduced her to Lydia, the shop owner, Lydia's daughter, Casey, and Casey's best friend, Ava. When Libby takes the two young teens to the hospital to drop off knitted caps for preemies, she's shocked at the rude treatment she receives from a surgeon there, Phillip Stone. But, something about the babies draws her back to the hospital where the former workaholic finds pleasure in volunteering to rock the newborns. Returning to the hospital, though, puts her in frequent contact with Dr. "Heart of Stone".  He's another workaholic already trying to make some changes in his life.

Libby Morgan isn't prepared for any changes in her life, a romantic interest, a change in her professional plans, or a needy teenager who sees Libby as a friend. If she's going to find happiness in life, though, she needs to make some changes, "Starting Now".

There are few surprises in this latest Blossom Street book, however readers of this series are not really looking for surprises. Starting Now means a return to familiar territory with new problems for new characters.and, there's nothing wrong with comfort reads. Once again, Debbie Macomber succeeds with a comfortable formula of problems, friendship, and romance with a happy ending.

Debbie Macomber's website is

Starting Now by Debbie Macomber. Ballantine Books. 2013. ISBN 9780345533531 (hardcover), 340p.

FTC Full Disclosure - Library book


Tina's Blog said...

Nine in the series?! Yet another series I have fallen behind reading simply because there are not enough hours in the day.

Lesa said...

Yes, I'm afraid nine is right, Tina. I agree with you - not enough hours.

Karen C said...

I haven't read the first eight books in this series, but thoroughly enjoyed Starting Now. It is definitely a great comfort read.

Lesa said...

And, you didn't need to read the first eight, did you, Karen? You're right. A good comfort read.

mike albee said...

I already finished ninth book.

book publicity

Lesa said...

Hope you enjoyed it, Mike.

Ingrid King said...

I like this series, and your term "comfort read" describes it perfectly. I'm looking forward to this book.

Lesa said...

My sister said the same thing, Ingrid, "comfort read".

rain bow said...

This is looks like interesting.

water damage

rain bow said...

I read this article and i think idea is fine. This is very helpful for future use.

water damage monterey