Sunday, May 02, 2010

Agatha Award Winners

I love this time of year when so many awards are presented. The Edgars are great, but the Agatha Awards for excellence in mystery writing, presented at Malice Domestic, are more representative of the books I read. One of these years, I'm going to that convention.

Here are this year's awards, as presented last night at Malice Domestic.

Best Children's/Young Adult Novel -

The Hanging Hill by Chris Grabenstein

Best Nonfiction

Dame Agatha's Shorts by Elena Santangelo

Best Short Story

"On the House" by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Best First Novel

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

Best Novel

The Brutal Telling by Louise Penny

Congratulations to all of the winners!


Bev Stephans said...

I've read the Brutal Telling and am halfway through The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. I just put Dame Agatha's Shorts on my wish list and I already ordered P.D. James, Talking About Detective Fiction (one of the nominees in non-fiction). One more for my ever-growing TBR pile! LOL!

Lesa said...

It's an enormous problem, isn't it, Bev; those ever-growing TBR piles?

Hank Phillippi Ryan said...

OH, thank you so much, Lesa! I am so happy and incredibly grateful...and your readers can read "On the House" on my website!

love to all...

Lesa said...

Thank you for putting the link, Hank, and telling us we can win the award-winning story there. I'll be checking it out in a day or two. Thanks. And, congratulations & hugs!